2013 News Releases

Dale L. Borchert, Chairman

line image

For More Information Contact:

Catherine F. Durland

(845) 486-2103

August 6, 2013        Print version

Dutchess County Proclaimed as a New York State "Purple Heart County"
In recognition of the men and women who have selflessly served their country

In appreciation of the commitment and sacrifices made by our military service members, Dutchess County Legislature Chairman Rob Rolison and County Executive Marcus Molinaro duly designated Dutchess County as a New York State “Purple Heart County.” 

DC designated as Purple Heart County imageThe Decoration of the Purple Heart is awarded in the name of the President of the United States to members of the Armed Forces who are wounded in conflict, or while being held as a prisoner of war.  The badge may also be awarded to the next of kin of members of the Armed Forces who are killed in conflict or who die of a wound received in conflict.

Rolison stated, “Veterans have paid a high price by leaving their families and placing themselves in harm’s way in order to protect our freedom we all enjoy today. It is a privilege of mine to take this pledge to honor and support all of our veterans and their families including the Gold Star and Blue Star Mothers for the sacrifices they have all made.”

“Intended for combat-wounded veterans and their families, the Purple Heart promotes patriotism, goodwill, and most importantly, that we never forget their service and sacrifice,” stated Molinaro. “The people of Dutchess County are grateful and may this serve as our sincere appreciation.”

As the oldest military decoration in use today, 2013 commemorate its 231st anniversary of the Purple Heart.   Also referred to as the Honorary Badge of Distinction created by General George Washington on August 7, 1782 during the Revolutionary War.  It is estimated 1.7 to 1.8 million service members have been awarded the Purple Heart.   Through the designation as a Purple Heart County, Dutchess honors and recognizes the service and sacrifice of our Nation’s service members wounded or killed in order to protect the freedoms enjoyed by all Americans.