Info Finder

Department Info

County Planning Board

Planning and Development
Eoin Wrafter, Commissioner



What is the Dutchess County Planning Board?Open Space
The Dutchess County Planning Board was established in 1968 pursuant to the Dutchess County Charter to consider and provide recommendations regarding metropolitan, 
regional, county or municipal planning issues and to advise the Commissioner of Planning and Development accordingly.

The Planning Board participates in an advisory capacity in major planning initiatives including the development of Greenway Connections, the Centers and Greenspaces program, and workforce and affordable housing. Among the Board's primary responsibilities is oversight of the County's Open Space and Farmland Protection Matching Grant Program. The Board accepts and reviews applications for County funding and forwards its recommendations to the County Executive and the County Legislature for implementation.

The Board includes nine members appointed by the County Executive and four appointed by the County Legislature. This membership represents both of our cities, as well as village and towns from all sections of the County. 


County Planning Board Meeting Dates / Minutes
Meetings are held the second Wednesday of every other month and are open to the public.

2017 Meeting Dates
January 11
March 8
May 10  cancelled
July 12
September 13  cancelled
November 8

3:30pm - 5:00pm 
27 High Street, 2nd Floor
Poughkeepsie NY 12601


2017 Minutes
January:  Minutes 01/11/17
March:  Minutes 03/08/17
July:  Minutes 07/12/17

2016 Minutes
January:  Minutes 01/13/16
February:  Special Voting Session Minutes 02/23/16
March:  No Meeting
May:  Minutes 05/11/16       Presentation: City of Poughkeepsie Planning Initiatives  
July: Minutes 07/13/2016 
September: Minutes 09/14/16 

2015 Minutes
January:  Minutes 01/14/15
May:  Minutes 05/13/15
July:  Minutes 07/22/15
September:  Minutes 09/09/15
November:  Minutes 11/04/15

2014 Minutes
January:  Minutes 01/08/14
March:  Minutes 03/12/14
April Site Visit:  Special Meeting Minutes 04/01/14
May:  Minutes 05/14/14
October:  Minutes 10/08/14

2013 Minutes
January:  Minutes 01/09/13
March:  Minutes 03/13/13
May:  Minutes 05/08/13
July:  Minutes 07/10/13
September:  Minutes 09/11/13
November:  Minutes 11/13/13

Members of the Dutchess County Planning Board
- Colleen Cruikshank, Village of Rhinebeck
- Joel Diemond, Village of Millbrook
- Michael Dupree, Town of Hyde Park
- Hans Hardisty, Town of Poughkeepsie

- Edward Hauser, Town of Pawling
- Hans Klingzahn, Chairman, Village of Fishkill
- James Nelson, City of Poughkeepsie
- Warren Temple Smith, Village of Rhinebeck
- Jill Way, Town of Dover
- Fredrick Wilhelm, Town of Pleasant Valley
- J. Randall Williams, City of Beacon
- J. Patrick Lambert, City of Beacon
- John Weisman, Town of Poughkeepsie
- John Metzger, Liaison, Dutchess County Legislature
- Anne Marie Smith, Liaison, Dutchess County Attorney

Contact the County Planning Board
For more information contact Jennifer Cocozza, the Planning Department liaison to the Dutchess County Planning Board, at:


27 High Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
(845) 486-3600

Questions?  Go to Your Dutchess Direct

Go to top of page