Info Finder

Department Info

Federal Highway Funding

Transportation Council
Eoin Wrafter, Commissioner


Federal Aid Eligibility

In order to receive federal transportation funding, a road or other facility must be “federal-aid eligible.” Federal-aid eligibility is based on the functional classification of the road. Functional classification groups roads into classes according to their character and the role they play in the network. This hierarchy ranges from roads for long interstate trips (Interstates) to roads providing access to individual properties (local roads). In between are arterials, which provide limited access to adjacent land, and collectors, which collect traffic from local roads and connect it to arterials. All roads are further classified as either urban or rural based on where they are located. 

The Transportation Council, in conjunction with NYSDOT and local agencies, periodically reviews and updates the functional classification of public roads based on how they are used. Federal-aid eligible highways are all public roads not functionally classified as “local” (rural or urban) or “rural minor collector.” All publicly-owned bridges are eligible for federal aid. In Dutchess County, federal-aid highways include 98% of State roads, 38% of County roads, 21% of City and Village roads, and 3% of Town roads. In total, approximately 26% (634 lane miles) of the road mileage in Dutchess County is federal-aid eligible. Functional Classification maps for Dutchess County can be found on NYSDOT’s website (.pdf files) and via NYSDOT's interactive online map.

The Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act (Pub. L. No. 114-94) represents the current federal transportation law, providing funds for highway improvements, motor vehicle safety, public transportation, motor carrier safety, rail, and research. The FAST Act places a focus on safety, establishes the structure of the various highway-related programs we manage, and continues efforts to streamline project delivery. The FAST Act establishes the following programs to maintain and improve our highway system:

National Highway Performance Program (NHPP): The NHPP provides funding to support the maintenance and performance of the National Highway System (NHS). Major eligible activities include the  reconstruction and rehabilitation of NHS road segments and NHS bridges and tunnels, and highway safety improvements on the NHS. Projects must also be consistent with plans such as Moving Dutchess 2. More information is available on FHWA's NHPP webpage.

Surface Transportation Block Grant Program (STBG): The STBG program provides flexible funding to states and local municpalities for pojects that improve the condition and performance of a federal-aid highway, bridge, or pedestrian and bicycle facility. Major eligible activities include the construction and rehabilitation of federal-aid eligible highways and bridges on any public road. More information is available on FHWA's STBG webpage.

Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) Improvement Program: The CMAQ program provides  funding to state and local municpalities for projects that help meet Clean Air Act requirements. Eligible projects include those that improve traffic flow, such as improved signalization, intersection improvements, new turning lanes, and improving transportation operations. More information is available on FHWA's CMAQ webpage.

Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP): The HSIP program supports projects that reduce traffic fatalities and serious injuries on all public roads. The HSIP requires a data-driven, strategic approach to improving highway safety. More information is available on FHWA's HSIP webpage.

Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) Program Set-aside (formerly known as TAP): This program provides funding for projects and activities that improve non-motorized mobility such as pedestrian and bicycle facilities, recreational trails, and safe routes to school. More information is available on FHWA STBG Set-aside webpage

Go to top of page