Climate Smart Communities

Planning and Development
Eoin Wrafter, Commissioner


The Climate Smart Communities (CSC) program creates a network of New York municipalities seeking to increase energy efficiency and the use of renewable energy sources, while reducing the amount of greenhouse gas emissions produced and increasing communities’ resiliency to impacts of climate change. Dutchess County leaders, the County Executive and the Chairman of the Legislature, have determined that involvement in these programs can help reduce overall energy usage and its associated costs and increase the use of renewable energy sources, both in government facilities and the community at large.  The program also provides guidance to local governments on best practices for mitigating and adapting to climate change and offers a source of matching grants for projects that advance stated goals. 

Task Force

The Climate Smart Communities (CSC) Task Force was established to review the elements of the Climate Smart Communities program in order to certify Dutchess County as a Bronze Level CSC within 12-18 months. The Task Force will be responsible for gathering the necessary data, conducting any required studies and submitting documentation to the NYSCSC program through its online portal.

Visit the NYSDEC for more information about the Climate Smart Communities Program.

Task Force Members

The Board includes 8 members appointed by the County Executive and 8 members appointed by the Chairperson of the County Legislature. 

  • Bridgette Anderson, Dutchess Community College
  • Brad Barclay, Dutchess County Planning and Development
  • Gary Basset, Village of Rhinebeck
  • Dale Borchert, Dutchess County Legislature
  • Audrey Friedrichsen, Scenic Hudson
  • Melisa Everett, Sustainable Hudson Valley
  • Mark Figliozzi, Town of Pleasant Valley
  • Jeff Irish, Sun Common
  • Vicky Kelly, Institute of Ecosystem Studies
  • Carolyn    Klocker, Cornell Cooperative Extension Dutchess County
  • Christopher Kroner, MASS Design Group // Hudson Valley Design Lab
  • Jacob Lawrence, Arlington High School
  • Steve MacAvery, Dutchess County Environmental Management Council
  • Europa McGovern, Hudson Valley Regional Council
  • Allan Page, A. Page & Associates LLC
  • Brian Scoralick, DC Soil and Water Conservation District


The CSC program is designed to encourage both climate smart actions on behalf of the municipal governments and the community at large.  Given this dichotomy, we have named Co-coordinators to lead this effort:  Steve MacAvery (Chairman of the DCEMC) and Brad Barclay (DC Dept. of Planning and Development’s Environmental Planner).  


Meetings of the CSC Task Force are held quarterly and are open to the public.

The CSC Task Force’s first official meeting will be held on Thursday, December 20, 2018, from 5:30-7:00pm at the Department of Planning and Development’s new offices (85 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 107, Poughkeepsie, NY).  For more information download or view the meeting’s agenda here (.pdf)

Contact Us:

For more information, email Brad Barclay or call 845-486-3600.

Go to top of page