Any violation of Article 25 of the Dutchess
County sanitary Code or ATUPA law carries
penalties. Penalties include the following,
depending on previous violations:

e Fines ranging from $300 to $2500.

e Local newspaper will publish violations.

e Suspension of Dutchess County Tobacco
Permit.

The ATUPA law requires that violations be
reported to the Department of Taxation and
Finance and the New York Lottery. These
departments will then suspend or revoke your
registration or license according to the law.
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No ifs, ands,
or BUTTS!

Dutchess County
Department of Health

Helping you understand
and comply with New York State
and local laws that affect your
business.

VENDING MACHINES I

Location

e Bars or bar area of restaurants. (Must
have full liquor license)

e Private clubs

e Tobacco businesses

e Places of employment, as long as a
significant portion of the workforce is over
18, and the machine is not accessible to
the general public.

The vending machine must be in plain view
and under direct supervision of the owner/
operator or a designee. Vestibules and
entranceways are not considered to be areas
under direct supervision.

Permits

The Dutchess County Permit is required in
addition to the State Registration. The owner/
operator of the facility where the machine is
located is responsible for obtaining the Per-
mit. Private clubs are exempt from the
Dutchess County Permit.
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e Article 25 of the Dutchess
County Sanitary Code

e Article 13-F of New York
State’s Public Health Law,
also known as the
Adolescent Tobacco Use
Prevention Act (ATUPA)




APPLICABLE LAWS I

Article 13-F of New York State’s Public
Health Law, also known as the Adolescent
Tobacco Use Prevention Act (ATUPA) was
enacted to prevent the sale of tobacco
products and herbal cigarettes to anyone
under 18 years of age.

Article 25 of the Dutchess County Sanitary
Code requires tobacco vendors to obtain a
Dutchess County Permit in order to sell
tobacco products.

COMPLIANCE CHECKS I

A compliance check is a routine visit to a
business by the enforcement officer to
determine adherence to the law. The
following items may be checked during a
visit:

e A business must not sell tobacco or
herbal cigarettes to ANYONE under
the age of 18!

o Anyone who appears to be under the
age of 25 must be asked for
acceptable identification.

e Bidis may only be sold at a tobacco
business.

e Out of package sales are prohibited.

e The location of all tobacco products
must be in compliance with the law.

e All applicable signs must be posted.

e The New York State Department of
Taxation and Finance Tobacco
Registration AND the Dutchess
County Tobacco Permit must be
displayed.

SELF-SERVICE BAN I

Effective January 1, 2002, Tobacco products
and herbal cigarettes cannot be sold, offered
for sale or displayed for sale unless they are
behind a counter in a place accessible only to
the store personnel, or in a locked cabinet.
Overhead racks and under the counter
displays are not compliant with the law unless
they are |locked.

These restrictions do not apply to tobacco
businesses, or to places where persons under
eighteen years of age are not admitted.

A violation of the self service restriction carries
the same penalties as a sale to a minor.

SIGNS REQUIRED

The ATUPA law requires that the sign pictured
below be posted in each facility where it can
be easily seen. A tobacco business that sells
Bidis must post an additional required sign.
Signs are available from your local
enforcement officer. Failure to post any
required signs may result in a fine.

SALE
of: cigarettes, cigars,
chewing tobacco,
powdered tobacco, or
other fobacco products,
herbal cigareftes,
rolling papers or pipes,

to persons UNDER 18 YEARS of age
is PROHIBITED BY LAW.

New York State Public Health Law, Article 13F

| PERMITS I

All tobacco vendors in New York State are
required to obtain a Retail Dealer
Certificate of Registration for
Cigarettes and/or Tobacco Products
from the New York State Department of
Taxation and Finance (DTF). This
registration must be kept current and
posted in the facility.

Additionally all tobacco vendors in
Dutchess County are required to obtain a
Dutchess County Permit to sell or
distribute tobacco products. Vendors
must possess a valid DTF registration to
apply for the permit. Vendors are
responsible for the posting of and renewal
of the permit. Private clubs are exempt
from the Dutchess County permit.
Applications are available on the
Dutchess County website or from your
local enforcement officer.

COUNTY OF DUTCHESS
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

PERMIT
Fosellor distribute tobacco products

 SAMPLE
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Permit must be posted and is Non-Transferable




