Skip to main content

Shared Services Provided by the Public Works

The County’s Department of Public Works has a Shared Services agreement with eight (8) towns (listed below), to assist in handling snow and ice control operations on County owned Highways within their jurisdiction. This work covers 100 miles of highway and represents 25% of the total 396 miles of County Highways. The participating towns are paid by the County for their labor and equipment for this service and may opt out at the end of each season.

Municipalities involved in this agreement include: Milan, North East, Dover, Pawling, Fishkill, Rhinebeck, Union Vale, and Clinton

This arrangement allows for a faster response time for snow and ice control operations, and therefore better level of service, on some of our roads that are geographically remote from the County’s six (6) operations centers.