Skip to main content

2016 County Clerk News

Kendall Elected President of the New York State Association of County Clerks

Published: 2/11/2016

Poughkeepsie… The New York State Association of County Clerks (NYSACC) elected Dutchess County Clerk Bradford H. Kendall to serve as President at a recent conference in Albany.  The membership of the association consists of 62 elected or appointed county clerks in New York State. Kendall previously held the roles of 1st, 2nd and 3rd Vice-President to the association. The term runs until February 2017.

For over 75 years, the association has been committed to “promoting a standard of excellence in the service offered by the County Clerks of the State of New York. The mission of NYSACC is to represent, educate and advocate for New York's county clerks in their service to the public. As leaders from across the state, they meet regularly throughout the year to exchange best practices, develop strategies and set priorities in order to enhance the services provided to their respective constituencies.

"I am truly honored to have been chosen by my colleagues to serve in the role as President. While the operation of County Clerk offices continues to evolve, our duty as “keepers of the record” remain the same. Today, we must adapt to ever-changing technology and the opportunity to enhance the operations of our offices while still maintaining the integrity and proper preservation of our records.  I am proud to lead the charge at such a pivotal time,” stated Kendall.  Dutchess County Executive Marcus Molinaro administered the Oath of Office to Kendall and the 2016 NYSACC Executive Committee members.

Kendall was appointed Dutchess County Clerk in 2006 by former New York State Governor, George E. Pataki.  He ran successfully for election in 2007 and was re-elected to the post in 2011 and 2015. Prior to his appointment as County Clerk, Kendall served as a Dutchess County Legislator from 1994-2006, representing the towns of Dover and Union Vale.  Kendall, a well-respected and trusted leader, was elected Chairman of the Dutchess County Legislature in 2000, a position he held until his appointment as County Clerk.  Elected seven times as Chairman, Kendall is one of the longest serving Chairmen in Dutchess County’s history.

 Dutchess County Executive Marcus J. Molinaro administers Oath of Office to the NYSACC Board (l to r) Joseph Provoncha-Essex Co., Catherine Hughes-Chemung Co., Matthew Hoose-Ontario Co., Sandra DePerno-Oneida Co., Judith Hunter-Steuben Co.; Annette Hill-NYC Register, Bradford Kendall-Dutchess Co., Michael Jankowski-Wayne Co.