Skip to main content

2012 School Bus Driver of the Year Award Presented
Operation Safe Stop Kickoff

Published: 4/17/2012

For More Information Contact:

Colleen Pillus

Poughkeepsie… Dutchess County Marcus J. Molinaro is pleased to announce Ms. Dina Treadwell of the Arlington Central School District has been named as the winner of the 11th annual School Bus Driver of the Year Award in recognition of her exemplary service and safety record. The annual award is part of the Dutchess County Traffic Safety Board’s efforts to promote school bus safety. The award is given in conjunction with the launch of the annual Operation Safe Stop Project.

County Executive Molinaro with School Bus Driver of the Year award recipientThis year, Operation Safe Stop Education Enforcement Day will be Wednesday, April 18th, 2012. Local law enforcement agencies across the state will be shadowing school buses to identify and ticket drivers who do not obey the flashing red lights on a stopped school bus.

“Our children’s safety is our utmost priority. Local police patrols will out on the roadways to be a visual reminder of the importance of stopping when the red lights are flashing on a school bus,” said County Executive Molinaro.

Law Enforcement throughout the County will target enforcement efforts at what School Transportation officials have identified as “hot spots” were most violations typically occur.

New York State Vehicle and Traffic law requires drivers to stop from either direction, even on a divided highway any time a school bus’s red lights are flashing.  Passing a school bus with red lights is not only dangerous, but it is illegal and punishable with fines ranging from $250 to $1,000. Five points may be assessed to one’s driver’s license, and penalties can also include possible imprisonment (up to 30 days for first offense and 180 days for a third or subsequent conviction).

Dutchess County Sheriff Adrian “Butch” Anderson said, “Bus drivers and law enforcement officers on the road do everything they can to help keep children safe, but motorists have to do their part and make sure they stop when they see the bus’ flashing red lights.    Stopping for a few seconds is a small thing to do to help ensure a child’s safety.”

Mrs. Dina Treadwell was presented with a commemorative plaque and honored as the School Bus Driver of the Year Award at the Operation Safe Stop kickoff press conference at the Arlington High School, Rt. 55 this morning. Mrs. Treadwell has been employed in the Arlington District for twenty five  years. According to Dutchess County Traffic Safety Board Administrator William Johnson, “Mrs. Treadwell is a model bus driver who always keeps her eye on the safety of her students. In more than twenty five years driving buses loaded with students, she has had NO accidents; an exceptional achievement.   Mrs. Treadwell is respected by supervisory staff, her peers and the many students and parents she has touched over the years.”

County Executive Molinaro said, “Every day, parents put their children on school buses and trust the bus driver to get their children to school and back home safely. Bus drivers bear a tremendous responsibility and this award is a way for our community to say thank you for bus drivers’ commitment to our children’s safety. We congratulate Mrs. Treadwell on her impressive safety record and thank her for her continued dedication to children.”

The Dutchess County Traffic Safety Board’s School Bus Driver of the Year award seeks to promote school bus safety through education and enforcement efforts. The annual award was initiated in 2002 to increase public awareness regarding school bus safety issues and to recognize school bus drivers who to get children to and from school safely on a daily basis. School bus drivers are an integral part of the safe transportation of school children. Crashes and related injuries are prevented by the experience, skill, and daily performance of these highly trained professionals.

The School Bus Driver of the Year Award is a collaborative partnership with the New York State Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee and the Mid Hudson Transportation Supervisor’s Association.

The Dutchess County Traffic Safety Board is a coalition of law enforcement, education, health and service agencies and individuals appointed by the County Executive who are committed to ensuring our streets, sidewalks, and residents remain safe.