Skip to main content

<< 2011 News    2013 News >>

Legislature to Hold Public Forums on Reapportionment
Rolison, Legislative Leadership seeks public input to develop plan that ensures fair, nonpartisan representation

Published: 5/18/2012

For More Information Contact:

Catherine Durland (845) 486-2103 

Chairman Robert Rolison (R-Poughkeepsie) today announced a series of forums to gather input from the public on the reapportionment of county legislative districts.  In addition to data collected from the U.S. Census Bureau, districts are to have population equity, comparability and contiguity to ensure equal and fair representation.

Rolison will be joined by Legislators Dale Borchert, Majority Leader (R-LaGrange), and Barbara Jeter-Jackson, Minority Leader (D-Poughkeepsie), to lead the meetings.  Additionally, members of the nonpartisan Ad Hoc Reapportionment Steering Commission, which is comprised of former legislators and residents of the County, will be on hand to facilitate in the discussions.

Borchert stated, “These forums are beneficial for the public to inform legislators on demographics and characteristics of the community that they live in.”  The sites chosen to host forums were based on their diverse locations to cover an array of communities.   Jeter-Jackson stated, “We will work together to make these changes in the legislative districts and look forward to a dialogue with our constituents.” 

“It is our responsibility as members of the Dutchess County Legislature, to have the reapportionment process as open and transparent as possible.  Throughout my tenure as Chairman, I have provided initiatives to foster citizen participation whenever possible.  These forums will provide an opportunity for residents to make their thoughts, concerns and ideas heard,” said Rolison.

The four public forums scheduled are as follows:

City of Beacon Municipal Building
1 Municipal Plaza
Beacon, NY  12508
Thursday, May 24 at 7 PM

Lathrop Center
2 Lakeside Drive
Pawling, NY  12564
Thursday, May 31 at 7PM

North East Town Hall
19 N. Maple Avenue
Millerton, NY  12546
Monday, June 18 at 7 PM

Hyde Park Town Hall
4383 Albany Post Road
Hyde Park, NY  12538
Monday, June 25 at 7 PM


For more information or to comment, please contact the Dutchess County Legislature at (845) 486-2100 or via email at