Skip to main content

Planning Federation

The Dutchess County Planning Federation (DCPF) supports the efforts of local volunteers involved in the community planning process throughout the County. In partnership with the Dutchess County Department of Planning and Development, the Federation has presented newsletters and educational workshops to local officials and residents for over 40 years.

Join our mailing list if you would like to receive our bimonthly eNewsletter and occasional email alerts announcing training opportunities. 

decorative image


Training Opportunities

In New York State, members of our local planning boards and zoning boards of appeal are required to earn at least 4 hours of municipally-approved training credits per year. To help our local volunteers meet that obligation, the DCPF hosts numerous training sessions during the spring and fall of each year. 

We have shifted to hosting online webinars during the COVID-19 pandemic, please continue to check back for new courses as we are scheduling them on a rolling basis:

Fall 2020 (date TBA) – FREE Webinar: Floodplain Regulations for Local Review Boards (NYS DOS)
Tentative – FREE Webinar: The Ins and Outs of Affordable Housing  

Materials from select previous presentations are available.


Our bi-monthly eNewsletter, Plan On It, brings you timely, single-article issues about planning and zoning topics that range from best practices to big thinking, geared for members of municipal planning boards, zoning boards of appeal, and legislative bodies. Produced in partnership with staff from the Dutchess County Department of Planning and Development.

Dutchess County Planning Federation Board

The Dutchess County Planning Federation is governed by a Board of Directors. Members serve for 3-year terms, and are governed by the Federation's Constitution and Bylaws (.pdf).

Current Board Members:
Jay Trapp (President), Red Hook Village Board of Trustees
Michael TJ McCormack (Vice President), Town of Clinton Planning Board
Anne Dexter (Secretary/Treasurer), Town of Hyde Park Planning Board
Phil DeRosa, Town of Pawling Town Board
Hans Klingzahn, Village of Fishkill Planning Board
Barbara Roberti, Town of Wappinger Zoning Administrator
Anthony Robustelli, Town of Amenia Planning Board
Tom Van Tine, Town of Fishkill Zoning Board of Appeals
Carl Whitehead, Town of Poughkeepsie Planning Board