Skip to main content

Municipal Historians

Updated August 27, 2018
To update this directory, contact County Historian Will Tatum below.

Dutchess County Historian

William P. Tatum III
22 Market Street, Poughkeepsie, New York 12601
845-486-2381 -- fax 845-486-2138
wtatum@dutchessny.gov

Dutchess County Historical Society

Bill Jeffway, Executive Director
Post Office Box 88
Poughkeepsie, New York 12602
845-471-1630
bill.jeffway@dchsny.org

Cities

Beacon

Historical Society: Robert Murphy info@beaconhistorical.org 845-831-0514
Post Office Box 89, Beacon, New York 12508

Poughkeepsie

Historian: George Lukacs saltglazed@aol.com 845-471-5066
62 Civic Center Plaza, Poughkeepsie, New York 12601

Towns & Villages

Amenia

Historian: Vacant
Amenia Town Hall, 4988 Route 22, Amenia, New York 12501

Historical Society: Betsy Strauss strausshouse72@gmail.com
Post Office Box 22, Amenia, New York 12501

Beekman

Historian: Honora Knox hknox@townofbeekman.com
Tel: 845-724-5300
4 Main Street, Poughquag, New York 12570

Clinton

Historian: Craig Marshall craigmarshall266@aol.com 845-242-5879
820 Fiddlers Bridge Road, Rhinebeck, New York, 12572

Historical Society: Cynthia Koch cynthiakoch@optonline.net
Post Office Box 122, Clinton Corners, New York 12514

Dover

Historian: Valerie LaRobardier valarobardier@gmail.com 845-849-6025

Historian: Caroline Reichenberg sweetcaroliner@aol.com
126 East Duncan Hill Road, Dover Plains, New York 12522 ( BOTH )

Historical Society: Fran Braley alfranb@optonline.net 845-832-7949
180 Old State Route 22, Dover Plains NY 12522

East Fishkill

Historian: David Koehler healthyharvestcsa@gmail.com 845-226-8877

Historical Society: Rick Soedler rjsoedler@gmail.com 845-227-5374
Post Office Box 245, Hopewell Junction, New York 12533

Fishkill (Town)

Historian: Joseph D. Cavaccini jcavaccini@fishkill-ny.gov 845-831-7800 Ext. 3507
Fishkill Town Hall – 807 NY Route 52, Fishkill, NY 12524

Historical Society: Steve Lynch asklynch@yahoo.com 914-525-7667
Post Office Box 133, Fishkill, New York 12524

Fishkill (Village)

Historian: Allan Way allanway2@aol.com
40 Broad Street, Fishkill, New York 12524

Hyde Park

Historian: Shannon Butler rangerbutler.sb@gmail.com
4383 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, New York 12538

Historical Society: Patsy Costello patsyc97@aol.com 845-229-2559
Post Office Box 182, Hyde Park, New York 12538

LaGrange

Historian: Georgia Trott-Herring herringtrott@aol.com 845-452-2911

Historical Society: Bob D’Amato lagrangehistoricalsociety@gmail.com 845-489-5183
Post Office Box 112, LaGrangeville, New York 12540 ( BOTH )

Milan

Historian: Johanna Bard johanna.bard@gmail.com

Deputy Historian: Vicky LoBrutto victorialobrutto@gmail.com
Milan Town Hall, 20 Wilcox Circle, Milan, New York 12571 (BOTH)

Millbrook (Village) Washington (Town)

Historian: David Greenwood ngreenwd@aol.com 845-677-5767
3248 Sharon Turnpike, Millbrook, New York 12545

Historical Society: Dianne McNeill damcneil816@msn.com
Post Office Box 135, Millbrook, New York 12545

Millerton / North East

Historian: (Town) Lisa Cope northeasttown@taconic.net 518-789-3300 ext 603
PO Box 516, Millerton, NY 12546

Historical Society: Ed Downey eddowney@millertonlawyer.com 518-789-4442
Post Office Box 727, Millerton, New York 12546

Pawling

(Historical Society of Quaker Hill and Pawling)
Historian: (Town) Robert Reilly sc31redsky@gmail.com 845-855-5040
160 Charles Colman Blvd, Pawling, New York 12564

Historian: (Village) Vacant

Historical Society: John Brockway johnbetsyb@aol.com 845-855-5395
Post Office Box 99, Pawling, New York 12564

Pine Plains

Historian: Vacant

Historical Society: Ann Simmons cas@fairpoint.net 518-398-5344
Post Office Box 243, Pine Plains, New York 12567

Dutchess County Historical Society VP: Dyan Wapnick dyan.wapnick@gmail.com

Pleasant Valley

Historian: Fred Schaeffer fredinhv@aol.com 845-454-1190
1544 Main Street (Route 44) Pleasant Valley, New York 12569

Historical Society: Marilyn Bradford momof5ny@yahoo.com 845-518-0998

Poughkeepsie (Town)

Historian: John R. Pinna townhistorian@townofpoughkeepsie-ny.gov 845-485-3646
1 Overrocker Road, Poughkeepsie, New York 12603

Red Hook

Historian: Emily Majer emily.majer@gmail.com
7340 South Broadway, Red Hook, New York 12571

Historical Society: Claudine Klose claudineklose@gmail.com 845-758-1920
Post Office Box 397, Red Hook, New York 12571

Rhinebeck

Historian: (Town) Nancy Kelly kinship@hvc.rr.com 845-876-4592

Historian: (Village) Michael Frazier michaelfrazier@earthlink.net 845-876-7462

Historical Society: David Miller dhmny@aol.com 845-750-4486
Post Office Box 291, Rhinebeck, New York 12572

Stanford

Historian: vacant

Historical Society: Kathy Spiers lakeendinn@aol.com 845-868-7320
Post Office Box 552, Bangall, New York 12506

Tivoli

Historian: Gregory B. Moynahan, Ph.D. moynahan@bard.edu
Post Office Box 5000, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York 12504-5000

Union Vale

Historian: Fran Wallin franw821@hotmail.com Town Office 845-724-5600
249 Duncan Road, LaGrangeville, New York 12540

Historical Society: Peter Gay (Vice President) chargaysgy@gmail.com 845-677-4837

Wappinger/Wappingers Falls

Historian: Joey Cavacinni jcavaccini@townofwappinger.us Town Office 845-297-4158 ext 107
Town Hall: 20 Middle Bush Road, Wappingers Falls, NY 12590

Village Co-Historian: Mary Schmalz mary.schmalz@outlook.com 845-464-0022

Village Co-Historian: Brenda VonBurg 845-297-2697

Historical Society: Beth Devine info@wappingershistorialsociety.org 845-430-9520
Post Office Box 174, Wappinger Falls, New York 12590