You must be at least 18 years of age at the time you apply. Nonresidents (including attorneys admitted to practice in New York State) must have an office or a place of business within the state to become a Notary Public.
Information on becoming a New York State Notary Public, as well as the application, can be obtained at www.dos.ny.gov. You can register for an exam at the test site on the day of the exam. The test fee is $15.00, payable by check or money order to the New York State Department of State.
You must bring a photo ID card to the test center on the day of your exam to verify your identity. If you do not have a photo ID, you will not be admitted. For security reasons, all applicants are thumb- printed prior to taking the exam.
Be early. Give yourself some time before the exam. You should report to the test center at least 15 minutes prior to the starting time because seats are assigned on a first-come/first-served basis. There is no guarantee that enough space will be available to accommodate everyone who arrives. Bring acceptable supplies. You should bring two #2 pencils to the exam. You cannot use study or reference material during the exam. You will be given a maximum time limit of one hour to take this exam.
The written exam is multiple choice. You will mark your answer by filling in circles on a machine-readable score sheet. Exam topics include law, general terms and information related to the duties and functions of a notary public, as outlined in the Notary Public License Law available online at the Division of Licensing Services.
Within two years of passing the Notary Public exam, you must submit the original "PASSED" notice with your application form, your signed oath of office card and fee.
NYS Department of State, Division of Licensing Services, 84 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12208-3490, 518-474-4429 www.dos.ny.gov.