Skip to main content


Published: 1/8/2024

For More Information Contact:

Chairman Will Truitt

POUGHKEEPSIE, NY - Dutchess County Legislature Chairman Will Truitt has announced his slate of committee chairs for the coming year. The legislature is home to six standing committees which consider legislation each month before the meeting of the full legislative body.

Returning to the helm of the Public Works and Capital Projects Committee is veteran lawmaker John Metzger of East Fishkill. Metzger, who is embarking on his fifth term as a legislator, has a professional background in construction and overseeing capital projects. For Vice Chair, Truitt has selected Legislator Randy Johnson of the City of Poughkeepsie. Legislator Johnson is beginning his fourth term and has a professional background in engineering.

Legislator Steve Caswell of East Fishkill has been tapped to be Chairman of the influential Budget, Finance, and Personnel Committee. Caswell, who has a professional background in finance, is beginning his third term as a member of the legislature. He served as Chair of the Government Services and Administration Committee in the previous legislative term. Joining him as Vice Chairman will be first term Legislator Ryan Travelpiece of LaGrange. Travelpiece comes to the legislature with a background in banking and finance.

Leading the Government Services and Administration Committee will be Legislator Doug McHoul of Fishkill. McHoul, a local small-business owner, is a third term lawmaker who will also be asked to serve as Vice Chair of the Family and Human Services Committee. Legislator Andrew House of Dover will assume the Vice Chair of the Government Services and Administration Committee. House previously served as Deputy Town Supervisor in the Town of Dover, bringing valuable local government experience to the committee.

Taking the reins of the Environment Committee will be Legislator Tony D’Aquanni. D’Aquanni, a second term lawmaker from the Town of Poughkeepsie, is a successful local businessman with over thirty years of experience in the local community. He served on the Environment Committee during his first term. Truitt has appointed Legislator Lisa Paoloni, a third term member from the Town of Wappinger as Vice Chair.

Staying on to lead the Family and Human Services Committee will be Legislator Faye Garito of Beekman. Garito is entering her seventh year as a member of the legislature, where she has skillfully led the Family and Human Services Committee for the last two years.

Assuming the top spot of the Public Safety Committee will be freshman Legislator Robert Faust of the Town of Wappinger. Faust comes to the county legislature with two decades of experience as a law enforcement officer in the Hudson Valley. Legislator Chris Rolison, a currently active Hudson Valley police officer, will be Vice Chair.  At a time when public safety is a top concern of people across Dutchess County, Legislators Faust and Rolison bring crucial real world experience that make them the perfect tandem to lead this consequential committee.