Skip to main content

A Message from Will Truitt, Chair

As the Chairman of the Dutchess County Legislature, I welcome you to our official webpage. This site is designed to help you stay informed about your County Government. 

The County Legislature is the policy-making and appropriating body of County Government. The Legislature has the power to levy taxes, adopt the County Budget, make appropriations, and adopt local laws subject to approval by the County Executive. It is comprised of 25 part-time Legislators, who are elected from separate districts throughout the County for two-year terms. There are standing committees composed of its members, as well as advisory committees and boards with citizen participation.

Through the links on this page, you have direct access to watch live County Legislative Committee and Board Meetings. You can also access our news releases, agendas, meeting minutes, and contact information for legislators.

The Clerk of the Legislature and the staff serve as the administrative arm of the County Legislature and are the official link to all other departments in the County and the constituency at large. The Clerk and her staff can be reached at (845) 486-2100. The Chairman of the County Legislature is elected annually from and by the membership and presides over all full Legislative Meetings. To contact the Chairman please call (845) 486-2103.

We encourage you to explore the site and learn more about your County Government. Information is updated regularly, so we invite you to check back often. We appreciate your interest in the legislative process and your participation is both welcomed and encouraged.