Skip to main content

<< 2013 News    2015 News >>

Legislature Adopts Resolution To Reinstate Sales Tax Exemption On Residential Energy Sources
Requests Waiver from NYS Department of Taxation and Finance for June 1st Implementation

Published: 4/7/2014

For More Information Contact:

Catherine F. Durland, (845) 486-2103

Poughkeepsie, NY … The Dutchess County Legislature adopted the resolution to reinstate the sales tax exemption on residential energy sources.  The resolution also calls upon the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance to waive the 90 day notice requirement to effectuate the exemption on June 1, 2014, the earliest first sales tax quarter date.  The resolution removing the exemption, which was part of the 2014 budget process included a provision that “a special meeting of the Dutchess County Legislature will be called to repeal this action upon the passage of mandate relief from the New York State Legislature and Governor that removes the need for this exemption to be repealed.”

Chairman of the Legislature Rob Rolison along with County Executive Marcus Molinaro and members of the County Legislature called upon  state lawmakers for financial relief to the County in the New York State 2014-2015 Budget.  Now that funding has been secured it allows the County Legislature to reinstate the exemption. Rolison stated, “As we have stated all along, once we received the much needed relief from Albany, we would immediately reinstate the exemption and we have done just that.  County Executive Molinaro and I worked tirelessly to deliver our message to legislators from all across New York.  We were heard and appreciate their response through the assistance we have received.”

Dutchess County Legislature Majority Angela E. Flesland stated, “Working with our colleagues in the State Legislature was truly an effort by all to do what we could to enact the repeal.  I am grateful to those who advocated on our behalf that resulted in critical state aid to reinstate the exemption.”

Dutchess County Legislature Minority Leader Barbara Jeter-Jackson said, “I am thankful we have received the assistance in order make this happen and today have this exemption restored.”