Skip to main content

About the Transportation Council

The Dutchess County Transportation Council (DCTC) develops three core products: a Metropolitan Transportation Plan, a Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and a Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP). The Transportation Plan outlines our transportation goals and policies for the next 20 years and is updated every five years; the current Plan, Moving Dutchess Forward, was adopted in 2021. The TIP serves as the five-year capital program for federally-funded transportation projects in Dutchess County and is updated every three years. The annual UPWP details our upcoming planning projects and budgets for the year. We receive federal transportation funds as the result of a planning program that produces these documents.

The Dutchess County Transportation Council (DCTC) operates according to a set of bylaws that identify our voting members, establish our decision-making process, and describe the roles and responsibilities of committees and sub-committees. Our bylaws include a public participation plan, project selection criteria, and guidelines for approving changes to federally-funded transportation projects.

Please see the Transportation Council Bylaws (.pdf) for more information.

The Dutchess County Transportation Council (DCTC), acting as a decision-making body, has 16 voting members. Membership is based on a municipality’s urbanized area classification: urbanized cities and towns serve as permanent voting members and the remaining towns and villages serve on a rotating basis or as nominated by the Dutchess County Supervisors and Mayors Association.

In addition, Dutchess County, the New York State Department of Transportation (NYSDOT), and the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) serve as voting members of the DCTC, while the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), Federal Transit Administration (FTA), New York State Bridge Authority (NYSBA), and related Dutchess County departments serve as non-voting, advisory members.

We are supported by a Planning Committee that meets monthly to review interim products prior to adoption by voting members.

Please see our current Dutchess County Transportation Council Membership List (.pdf) for more information. 

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA) are required to evaluate and certify the Dutchess County Transportation Council’s metropolitan transportation planning process every four years. This in-person certification review is required for urbanized areas with more than 200,000 people. The review ensures that we are meeting the statutory and regulatory requirements for the metropolitan planning process.

Please see our current (2017) Federal Certification Report (.pdf) for more information.

As a recipient of federal funding, the Dutchess County Transportation Council (DCTC) assures that no persons or groups of persons shall, on the grounds of race, creed, color, gender, age, national origin, disability, income, sexual orientation, Limited English Proficiency, or veteran status, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise subjected to discrimination under any and all programs, services, or activities administered or carried out by the DCTC or our direct recipients, consultants, or contractors.

Please see our Title VI Policy and Complaint Procedures (.pdf) for more information.